Academy Conversion and Establishing a Multi Academy Trust

As you may be aware, the Government is keen to encourage all schools to become academies and be part of a multi-academy trust, either by joining an existing one or setting up a new one.
We believe that our best option is to form our own multi-academy trust with like-minded colleagues as this will enable us to:

  • Establish a structure together with procedures and policies that best suit all of our needs
  • Develop quality-first education to meet the needs of all
  • Protect and retain our individual ethos, identity (including school name), qualities and strengths
  • Enhance the professional development of staff including talent spotting, succession planning and networking
  • Maximise opportunities to support and challenge through a Trust-wide school improvement strategy
  • Retain our local governing boards
  • Give greater financial control to obtain the best value and greatest choice of services by maximising our funding

This following documents provide you with information about the proposed change to academy status and the ‘Multi-Academy Trust’ which eight local schools are proposing to establish. The schools currently involved are Abbey Hill School & Performing Arts College, Abbey Hulton Primary School, Etruscan Primary School, Forest Park Primary School, Kemball School, Oakhill Primary School, St Mark’s CE (A) Primary School, and Watermill School. They have all received their academy orders from the Secretary of State for Education. All of the schools are “good” according to their latest Ofsted inspections. Other schools may come on board and join the multi-academy trust in the future, subject to agreement of the founding member schools.

Please lick on the following links to download and read our proposals:


You will need Adobe Reader to read the above documents. Click here if you don’t have a copy.

WordPress Video Lightbox